Writing the Wolf.

My urban fantasy series has wolves in them. Wolves in Singapore, not the ones caged up in the zoo – but wolves walking amongst us, by all means, looking like us humans.

Yet, when they transform, they become full wolves. Four-footed and possessing wolf senses. If they concentrate, they can remain human-lucid. They are not the typical werewolves we see in the movies and TV: the savage half-wolf, half-man. In fact, their own version of the boogeyman (or wolf) is the hybrid and monster half-man, half-wolf.

For me, I have long been a lover of the wolf. I even see myself as a wolf… at least, metaphorically. So when it comes to writing the wolf, I try to write as authentically as possible. I have wolf reference books. I read up. I want my wolves to be real.

The wolves in Singapore have adapted to the tropical island-state with its humidity and blistering heat. No four seasons – only very subtle changes in the weather as the year changes. They are also Chinese wolves. So their own communal celebrations are tied to the Chinese lunar calender and cultural traditions. Like their wild brethren, they love celebrating as a pack. Family. Clan.

I am still building their world. The world of the Lang.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nanda
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 11:43:01

    That sounds SO cool. I love wolves. They are beautiful creatures and writing about them is so much fun!

    Reply

  2. Marie Hodgkinson
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 10:55:36

    I am very much looking forward to reading about them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Help Me Fund – Translation Into Turkish

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

