Towards a sustainable future: Thoughts on writing Rider and pictures.

I visited the Gardens By The Bay yesterday and the experience took my breath away. Visiting the Cloud Forest and the Flower Domes reinforced why I am writing the Rider trilogy.

The tale started with a brain-flash and grew into a SFF tale set on a desert planet, with a girl who yearns to be a Rider. The desert world is hostile and the colonists struggle to survive on the planet. The Agri-seer Corps signify the management of the planet’s resources, most importantly conserving Earth species and adapting to new ones. I have often imagined how the Agri-seer Corps City would look like and yesterday’s trip crystallized it:

This was what greeted me when I entered the Cloud Forest. A thundering waterfall. The mist of water caressed my face and I went: “This is what the Agri-seer Corps City looks like!”

The Flower Dome stunned me further:

The experience refreshed and inspired me further. I wrote Rider for a reason. Sustaining a future is one important aspect. It’s not a matter of terra-forming a foreign planet for colonization, but an understanding of a planet’s ecosystems and environments. As I am writing now, there are forest fires, pollution and further degradation happening on Earth. Perhaps, the colonists left old Earth, because of its state… and that is a sobering thought to mull over. Li’Fang and her compatriots have to cope with a changing planet too as it reacts to the colonization. What can they do?

I will definitely go back to the Gardens By the Bay.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tonya Moore
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 02:07:54

    What a beautiful place! What is the name of that amazing green pant–1st in the set of last 3? Is it some kind of succulent?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Help Me Fund – Translation Into Turkish

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

