Remember Me.

Remember me when you burn my feathers, all three of them, in different times.
Remember me when the feathers catch fire and pull me – siren-song – to your side.
Remember me.

Remember me when you burn my feathers, my gift to you, my eternal gratitude, when you smashed the snake’s head with your mallet and my children saved.
Remember me when you go off adventuring, as heroes would do, in far-off distant lands.
Remember me.

Remember me when you burn my feathers, each a part of me, a piece of me.
Remember me when you call for help and burn them with fire.
Remember me when the debt is paid and everything else is even.

— from The Book of Phoenii.

Leave a Reply

