I write the stories I want to see.

The Twitter hiatus, two days and counting, is doing me good. I wrote poems, submitted something and generally did ok on the writing front. Twitter is noisy. The only thing for a headspace that needs silence is to block, mute and not engage. Add to the fact that I have also begun re-treatment and the effects are hitting me rather hard. So, gentle to self and tender care and all.

As writers, we deal with things. Our brains tell us we are not good. Our friends, unwittingly/unconsciously/sometimes consciously, tell us we are not good. Jealousy, that beastie, is always there. Twitter unfortunately exacerbates the experience. The trick is… is there a need to be happy for your friends? Our society has conditioned us to be happy for people, because if we are not happy, we are just sore losers. It is ok to be jealous. We are after all human and very mortal. Most of us end up feeling worse, because we are not supposed to feel jealous. It is not easy coping with jealousy. Each person’s way of dealing with it differs. It is therefore ok to take sabbaticals from friendships, back away from people, and then regroup. And it is ok to think this way: Has this friend helped you? Clothed you? Fed you? Gave you shelter? If not, leave. It’s not worth it.

It is therefore ok to cry and then soldier on.

At the moment, there is this thing that is going around the circles, that publishers are just publishing SJWs because it is the Cool Trend at the moment. This is total bullshit. Real social justice happens on the ground, off the ‘Net and in schools, in activist groups, in rallies, at home. You think it is cool to be a SJW? Spend a day in an actual school, teaching actual kids.

I am only writing the stories I want to see.

I am only writing the stories because I am walking the talk.

I write stories.

I am already walking the talk.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ashleycapes
    May 09, 2015 @ 07:45:30

    Great post πŸ™‚

    How’s the hiatus going at the moment? I need to do one later this month – from all internet I think πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

